Facey, Olander waiting; Calhoun OK

20130925-162814.jpg

UConn players Ryan Boatright, DeAndre Daniels and Kentan Facey try to cool down after competing in the Husky Run Wednesday. (Neill Ostrout photo)

Yes, DeAndre Daniels won the Husky Run. We should have expected just as much. He had already done it twice before Wednesday’s run and was ready before to make it three in a row.

“I tried to keep it going, my third year in a row. I wanted to beat the freshman, Kentan (Facey),” Daniels said. “He came out here and told me he was going to take it from me. So I had to come out here and beat him.”

Daniels did just that, and edged out walk-on Pat Lenehan at the tape for the UConn wine.

At the start of the race, UConn G Shabazz Napier encouraged all of the runners to have fun and to “see who can beat DeAndre.”

The final answer was: very few.

— AS FOR FACEY, his status could be cleared up soon. The freshman big man hasn’t been cleared to play yet because of some questions over his high school transcript.

There is a chance he’ll lose a year or more of eligibility because of where he was placed in high school when he moved from his native Jamaica to Long Island.

“That should hopefully happen a couple days from now, hopefully,” UConn coach Kevin Ollie said. “I’ve been pushing it because I want to know that before practice.”

Facey is staying positive through it all, it seems.

“They’re trying to work everything out as soon as they can,” Facey said.

— THE RACE WENT off without UConn G Omar Calhoun Wednesday but fans shouldn’t fret too much.

Ollie said trainer James Doran was just holding Calhoun out as a precaution and that his hips (which he had offseason surgery on) are fine.

“He’s in good condition. From Kemba (Walker) and when all our pros came down, they came up and told me that he’s playing with confidence. He got a couple dunks in the run, which was good to hear,” Ollie said. “Just hearing from James, he’s doing everything to get ready for that first practice and I think he’s a full go.”

— THE HUSKIES WILL open practice on Saturday, one day after the NCAA’s new first available day of practice.

— AS EXPECTED, Tyler Olander also did not participate in Wednesday’s run. He remains suspended from the team after his second arrest of the summer, even though it wasn’t as big a deal as it first appeared.

What does Ollie expect of Olander now?

“I hope that he becomes a better young man,” Ollie said. “That’s first and foremost.”

Ollie hinted that it’s a matter of Olander avoiding certain vices.

“All of us have our vices,” Ollie said. “Every day I have to sacrifice my vice. I’m not going to tell you, but I have mine.”

Does Ollie expect him back on the court soon?

“That’s one him,” Ollie said. “I can expect a lot of things but sometimes they don’t happen.

“I would like him to play but it’s really on him. I’m evaluating him each and every day.”

Some of Olander’s teammates are trying to keep his spirits up.

“I’m just trying to keep him motivated,” Niels Giffey said. “I go into the gym with him at night a lot. We take a lot of shots at night.”

— GIFFEY IS BACK after spending the first few weeks of the new semester at UConn playing for his native Germany in the European Championships.

“It was just an overall great summer for me,” Giffey said. “It was a great experience to play with the top guys in Europe, the top teams in Europe.”

Giffey was a key shooter for Germany, which upset Tony Parker and France in the first game but eventually was knocked out in the opening round.

“For me it was good to be on a different team, to take on a different role, be more of a scoring threat and a scoring option,” Giffey said.

Although he probably could have shopped his service around immediately and turned pro, Giffey chose to return to UConn for one more season.

“I considered it for a little bit but then again, I’m just not the type of guy who’s going to go for the money right away,” Giffey said. “I just like the environment and the situation we’re in at UConn. I wanted to finish my degree and finish the season with this team.”

Neill

About Neill

Neill Ostrout covers the UConn men's basketball team for the Journal Inquirer in Manchester. He has been a member of the "Horde" for more than 16 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Facey, Olander waiting; Calhoun OK

  1. Reblogged this on SNY UCONN and commented:
    The UConn Husky run in men’s hoops was this afternoon with DeAndre Daniels coming in first once again. For all the news please looks at my colleague and co-worker at the JI Neill Ostrout.

Leave a Reply

