Ryan Boatright reacts to return

After two weeks, we finally got a chance to talk with UConn guard Ryan Boatright after Sunday’s game.

Here’s a quick look at what he had to say after picking up six points, three rebounds and two assists in 30 minutes of action against Notre Dame:

“It felt good just to be back on the court competing,” Boatright said. “It’s been painful to sit out and watch.”

Was he rusty?

“Yeah, most definitely,” Boatright said. “That’s why I didn’t shoot as much.”

Is there any chance of further NCAA sanctions?

“It’s finally over. We finally put it behind us,” Boatright said. “You don’t have to worry about me getting pulled out again.”

“Yeah, they shut the whole thing down,” Boatright added. “They have no more questions, nothing about anything. I’m going off what they (NCAA) say.”

Has it been mentally draining?

“It’s been mentally draining but I can finally say it’s put behind me and we can move on,” Boatright said.

Tanesha Boatright’s lawyer, Scott Tompsett, says the family may sue but Ryan wasn’t privy to any of that information, it seems.

“I don’t know what’s going on. I’m just happy to be back on the court,” Boatright said. “Whatever my mom and her lawyer got going on, that’s with them. I’m just happy to be back playing.”

Neill

About Neill

Neill Ostrout covers the UConn men's basketball team for the Journal Inquirer in Manchester. He has been a member of the "Horde" for more than 16 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment